Live from the Big City

Last I wrote, I was in a perpetual nirvana of first-quarter-life crisis: a bleak job outlook, a resident of my parents’ basement, single, and more. While the latter is still true (I’m a steal gentlemen), the clouds have finally parted on the rest of my dismal life.

After six months of hunting, I finally found myself with a six-month internship with a publishing company in the marketing division. I never dreamed in a million years that I would be an “intern,” but strangely I find it to be refreshing. If anything, it has renewed my understanding of what I find to be most important. My supervisor has recognized this aspect of me but continues to give me the encouragement that I need in order to be successful with what I do.

it has renewed my understanding of what I find to be most important.

What I’ve learned:

  1. I am really efficient. I’m not sure if this comes as a surprise, but I complete my tasks rather quickly with a high amount of detail. Why? Because I’m basic … and a hipster … that’s why.
  2. High energy, ADD environment is required. Also likely not a surprise but I need to be in a place where the energy of my colleagues matches (or at least is 1/4) my own. The workplace is quiet which for some is a great thing, but not for me.
  3. I love the city life. My job is in the state capital (well … sort of) and I am so happy that I moved here. If anything, the young culture here is incredible (I write this in a coffee shop with the majority of clients likely younger than me … *sigh*). More importantly, I have meet some really great people who have honestly changed my life for the better. They may never know this, but I am so grateful for their friendship.

I will be writing now from various coffee shops in the big city, so likely my posts will be more frequent. I am excited about this new chapter in my journey. Maybe, just maybe, I’ll figure out what my career will be.

Edit: I also just realized this post was written 1-day-minus exactly one-month from my last post. Kind of cool, don’t you think?

Leave a Reply

