Date Day MSP 2015 — April 25

In homage to everybody’s favorite blockbuster Ms. Congeniality, I felt a sudden urge to do things today, specifically, that I don’t normally do. Since my trip to Chicago about two weeks ago (yeah; I know … no post on that …), there has been a repeat in my usual emotional state, which is more often than not described on this blog. However, the key difference is that I am beginning to realize that self love needs to come first … and it starts with a date with, well, myself.

A previous post, perhaps about four–six months ago, suggested that I would be going on personal dates with myself. Today, I felt it was about time that this happened. I’m not talking about a dress-up sort of event; just something casual with a hint of the unexpected. Already today, I have done the following things:

  • ST. PAUL Early this morning, I took the train to St. Paul to hear this lovely choir from my hometown. I’ll be perfectly honest, since moving to Minneapolis, I have only traveled to St. Paul twice (including today). I’m not sure why this is the case but, regardless, this trip was unexpected. It was actually a lot of fun. and I got to see parts of that city that I have never seen before (or have tried to forget).
  • NICE RIDE Perhaps recognizing that I might want to start exploring the city this summer, I purchased a membership with Nice Ride MN. Nice Ride is a non-profit that provides bikes for the community at a relatively low cost per year. They have stations all across the metro and, with a special key, one can access a bike for hour-long intervals.
  • SPYHOUSE I’m not 100% sure if it is only found in Minnesota, but Spyhouse Coffee is this great, super hipster joint found in various parts of the metro, which serves a pretty decent coffee selection; however, their tea is the bees knees.
  • DANCING While I was under the assumption that I was going out to meet friends, they decided to ditch the place where they told me they were going to be, but that didn’t stop me from having a great night out. Though I had a little too much to drink (as per usual), I had this strange desire to eat a burger when I got home last night, so it all worked out in the end.

That concludes what happened on Date Day MSP 2015 🙂

Leave a Reply

